Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Missing the Sweet Corn
Sunday, Aug. 20, 2006
4:08 p.m.

So much for a job. They interviewed seven people and picked somebody else. The age old problem presents itself again- why is everything I would be willing do to for work a volunteer position? I would work for an animal shelter: volunteers only. I would work for a community theatre: volunteers only. I would work for a museum: vounteers only. Apparently, if it's work it really has to suck. The search continues, but it's difficult as everyone else in town is also looking for something to do.

Classes begin for me on Tuesday. I get automatic three day weekends, as do all theatre students. I'm not entirely certain why. They can't all work the same days. Perhaps it's to ensure that they come to class on Fridays.

After trying to thunderstorm here in the Bermuda Weather Triangle for three days, it has finally suceeded in piddling down a little bit of rain. All last night the skies were lit up with lightning that never seemed to move or get any fiercer. This is a weird weird place we're living in.

Coming from Iowa, we like our corn on the cob. We buy our corn on the cob from people who pick it out of their fields and hand it to you. No such places exist here. The corn on the cob is shipped in, not even from Iowa, from Colorado. What the heck does Colorado know about sweet corn? We decided to look at the grocery store. Colorado knows nothing about sweet corn. It's puny discoloured stuff, not worth eating.

It reminds me of the time my grandfather got a whole box of oranges at Christmastime from a friend in Florida. They were oranges unlike any to be had in the northern grocery stores, even in the summer time. I've not been able to eat an orange in this hemisphere since because of the memory of that other orange.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------