Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
A Beginning
Thursday, Aug. 17, 2006
10:35 a.m.

Job interview this morning. There are something like sixty other people who have also applied for the job, but they have not interviewed yet. The job starts on Monday. It took all of fifteen minutes and mostly involved them making sure that I was a real human being who understood English and that I knew this wasn't an internship. I don't get an internship, I'm not a real live grad student, so it's no problem. I have to send them my schedule and they'll let me know. Really it sounds like my last job all over again, but in a different way.

I was taking a Lingustics course, Grammer in Language (even Nazi's can learn more about their particular brand of hatred), but I dropped it because Playwrighting was at the same time and the guy really wants me in that class so he can get to know me. Actually, as he looks a little like Ian McKellen and he's got Quenya on his door, so Gandalf he will remain.

There are three grad students in the programme right now and, as Gandalf said, they're "Three hopelessly straight white guys." He figures a girl would be an interesting change.

They have No Shame Theatre here, as they did at OldUni. Here it's run by one of the other playwrights who also House Manages the theatre. I'll probably have to check it out since it definately will not be of the lackluster hack variety that Tom and Co. turned it into at OldUni. Sadly, the Potato Fetus Sketch, and the ensuing controversy, I think, spelled the end of real No Shame in CF.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------