Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
The Natural World
Tuesday, Aug. 22, 2006
2:08 p.m.

Back in CF there was a Drury Lane. I never discovered if there were any muffin men living in it, but the sign was quite clear. I meant to get a picture of it before we moved for fear I might never see such a thing again.

It didn't happen. Here, I searched out and found a Drury Ave, also a No Name Rd, and a Lois Ln. All within three blocks of each other. Determined to have the upper hand, I embarked yesterday upon a quest to find these street signs.

As usually happens when I go on quests, I didn't end up where I was supposed to go, but I ended up where I probably needed to go. I tripped onto a park with a lake that's only about a mile and a half from home. It's big and wonderful and I wish I had a canoe, because I would be there with my canoe from now until the place iced over. It abounds in butterflies and wonderfulness. There are pictures, but right now I don't feel like uploading them.

On making a second attempt, I found the arboretum, also super close to home. It was absolutely deserted. And jungle-y. It's all footpaths, and you go down one that's all full of trees and bugs. You can hear the bugs breathing, it's so alive down there. There were footprints, so obviously I'm not the only one to have ever been there, but there isn't any garbage anywhere. Truly amazing.

NewTown has several varieties of magnolia I've never encountered before. At least, I think they're magnolias. They look like they're distant, more sinister cousins of banana trees.

I went and filled out an application with the garden centre and gift shop down the street. Here's hoping I remembered our phone number and that they're looking for someone between 3:30 and 6 (when I guess they close). It's a nice enough looking place, but totally deserted except for one woman, and they don't post hours. Here's hoping I remembered our phone number and that they're looking for someone between 3:30 and 6 (when I guess they close).

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------