Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Internet Sickness
Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2006
2:31 p.m.

The Internet hates me, again.

I don't know why, but there are certain things that the connection will no longer allow me to do. I can't access Yahoo, well, I can access the main page, but I can't sign in to anything. However, I can get to everything in Hotmail. I can't access MySpace, though that's no real huge problem.

The website for my Signmyguesbook.com guestbook has been down for ages (come on Andrew, I know you run that site too, what's going on?), but I can't tell now if that's just me, or if it's the site.

I even downloaded Firefox to see if that made a difference, nope, still can't get the pages to show up. The only thing I learned is that I can't write HTML for Firefox.

Since it rained absolutely non-stop on Monday, the phone has also been on the blink again. Weird... until just now... The minute I typed that, the phone light stopped flashing. Hold on a second.

Hmmmm, well, I must have frightened the phone into submission, but everything else is as it was. I keep getting the error page, and the specific error in IE6 is "Cannot find server or DNS Error Internet Explorer", Firefox just giggles at me. Problem is, nothing seems to be wrong. Everything will ping just fine, everything says that it's hunky dory. I've spent three hours today on it and two hours yesterday, no idea what's wrong.

I can't work out if I'm sick or not. We have one of those electronic thermometers and it's a super cheap one. Sometimes it says that I'm at 97 degrees, and sometimes it says that I'm at 99, the rest of the time it hits a fairly steady 98.1. I hate the stupid thing, but the only way to get a glass thermometer these days seems to be to inherit one, and no one can find my grandparent's. Monday night I started to feel physically crappy, so I stayed home yesterday and today.

My parents never let me stay home from school because of the incredibly stupid attendence policies. Six abscences only, and even then you had to have a doctor's note or they'd consider sending you to the alternative school: why pay the money to go to the doctor so he can tell you you're sick, there's nothing he can do about it, go home and get better?

So, they'd make the school send me home, and they never did that for anything but puke (which in me is a sign of stress, not illness). I used to be sick for months, without realising it: I just thought I had eternal colds. Turns out I had walking pneumonia for about a month and a half every year since middle school. The Boy made me go to OldUni's Death Centre three years ago and they determined that's what those symptoms were.

While it was very easy to sit in a class of 25 and feel awful (you'll inevitably be left alone in your misery), it's incredibly difficult to sit in a class of seven with a blank stare and runny nose, so now I stay home whenever I think I need to. Here, you get three misses for each class: three for MWF courses and three for TTH courses works out to six days total. Also, they don't expect a doctor's note, "if you miss, you miss, we don't care why, just don't be sick three days and then have your grandmother die". Still pretty stupid, but in a different way.

I think I'm probably fine now, anyway.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------