Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
You can all just burn in hell
Thursday, Mar. 02, 2006
2:50 p.m.

So, I've spoken of Annoyance Eric before. This is the guy with the speech impediment who does not believe he has a speech impediment. He also flips out at the slightest provocation... anything. He flips out at anything. In classes, at professors, who put up with it for some reason. And I don't mean he's mildly annoyed, I mean he throws little boy tantrums complete with stomping and (when it's not a professor) name-calling. The sort of thing that would get you sent to the office back in middle school.

For those of you who are theatrically inclined, he wants to be a stage manager. (Pick your jaws back up off the floor.)

Today I went to lunch with the Nathan, Miss Annie, and Other Friend David (there are two Davids). Little Irene joined us along the way. Right in the middle of lunch, Annoyance Eric comes up and yells at the table in general for having seen him, and sitting someplace else rather than with him. He wound this little beration up by telling the table at large that we could all burn in hell.

It turns out that when I was walking behind them, the Nathan saw AE and asked Miss Annie if we could sit anywhere else but near or with him. I guess AE had an explosion in an earlier class today and the boy wanted nothing to do with him. So, technically, AE was correct in his hypothesis, but (I think) seeing a person is not an obligation to sit with them, or even necessarily acknowledge them.

Poor Little Irene is a sweet, sensitive, friends-with-everybody sort of girl, and hadn't even seen him. She saw Miss Annie while we were getting food and came to sit with us, so this rude outburst was enough to make her burst into tears and ruin lunch for the rest of us.

I could be socially out of it, but I think that telling people to burn in hell because they didn't come and sit with you is a little beyond the pale. Frankly, if Annoyance Eric didn't give off quite such a serial killer vibe, that would've been the point at which I would have stood up and said, "You're right, Eric, we didn't want to sit with you, and when you behave like that, why should we want to?" I don't really want to risk getting on a hit list.

From a certain religious perspective, I'm going to burn in hell anyway because I've never been baptised, but still, there is no call for behaviour like that and his parents should've smacked him around more.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------