Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Foaming at the Mouth
Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2006
8:12 p.m.

I'm avoiding doing a scenario of a bullying situation and hoping my mother does not call me back.

It's gotten to the point that I can't really just let the phone ring anymore, but it seems that everytime I do talk to her I just end up angry with myself and at Nathan. Not fair to him.

While I realise that lots of work needs to be done for the wedding, I don't want to think about it. I don't want to talk about it. We're both getting nudged by the grown-ups and since the grown-ups are not on the same page, and as far as I'm concerned aren't reading the same book half the time, any discussions that arise turn into arguments.

He and I need to talk about this. We don't need to talk about it in terms of what would make his mother happy, or my father (and, in turn, me) irate, just him and me. But we can't, because we never have time to talk about it until prompted to anger by one set of grown-ups or another.

The capper on this? We get to see both sets of them on Saturday. Seperately. I'd rather have teeth pulled because in my experience that is a short and relatively painless operation, rather than the all-day hell this is certain to be.

Sighs. Why can't this just be an elephant in the living room that no one wants to talk about? Why must everyone have an opinion?

I suppose in some ways, if I would just back down on a couple of things, but from my point of view, if I have to go through with this I get to do it on my terms. And yet I still find myself wishing I could have a stunt double, or a big cardboard cut-out. Then it wouldn't matter because I wouldn't have to feel stupid about it for the rest of my life. I know me. I am going to remember every single stupid detail for the rest of my life, and I don't really want to have too many things to have to be bitter about.

I know I've said this before, but it's his mother that really kills me. It's all about "honouring" the two of us, she says. Except that she keeps telling Nathan to invite people she works with, and that all her sisters will be coming up from Texas early so they can visit with them, and that the list of people she wanted at the "shower" I told her there was no way she was throwing included her female friends and family, my mother, and me. Like that's a party I'd want to attend.

I'll vent this bit 'o spleen to the Nathan when he gets home from rehearsal around eleven thirty.

Speaking of which, the operas open tomorrow. Turns out that the music department auctioned off a non-speaking role for opening night in a raffle. It was OK with our department head, but he and the director were the only two who knew anything about it. Department Head figured that Dipshit Director would take care of everything. Dipshit Director forgot.

The role was given to Friend Juice and expanded to involve a lot of physical comedy, and lines. Now, Friend Juice is playing stunt double to the old guy who got the part for opening night and the lines are being cut (hope his family didn't buy tickets). The poor guy isn't getting any course credit for the role, but because the department has a "if you're a performance major, you have to audition for everything, but if you are given a role and turn it down we blacklist you" policy, he had to take this stupid part that he didn't want. And now he's kinda being told that it didn't really matter anyway, because they can cut him out to let some guy in a raffle who was forgotten about in.

Makes me wonder what Dipshit Director's been doing the last two and a half months.

The production crew is pissed, because this is the ultimate screw-up. The costume crew is throwing together something for the guy to wear (I say no one but DD and DH knew anything about this). The set designer is pissed because they built a specialty wardrobe just for Friend Juice (he hides in it during the show), and this guy is too big for the cupboard. So, the technical director is worried about safety, because if anything goes wrong he could get his ass sued. The production manager is ticked because he was never told anything either, and someone was supposed to.

All is not well with this production. I say this should be the final straw. The music department failed absolutely to communicate with the theatre, as did our department head because everyone assumed that Dipshit Director (who is notoriously scatterbrained and tends to overlook those details that, though important, are not instantly important to her) would take responsibility for letting everyone know about this very important turn of events.

Turns out DD figured the old man would forget he'd won, so decided no one needed to know. It was even considered that perhaps Department Head might not be told about it, because, really, was that important? Ummmm, yes?!

Theatre is a collaborative process. You tell everyone what's going on because one little thing makes a hell of a lot of difference.

"Oh, so the costumes are bright pink and the set is bright yellow." (Also true of this show, but due to the director's "vision", it stays, no matter how hideous it looks.)

"Oh, so, we've decided that all the props in the show will be coated with butter, so the actors can't pick them up, but we won't do it until opening!" (Not a bad idea considering how many of them they've already broken in the course of rehearsal.)

"Oh, so we raffled off one of the key roles of the show, but no one needs to know that, right?"

See, no one in the theatre needs to tell anybody anything else. Totally unimportant.

Things are getting just a little too realistic right now.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------