Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
If you don't know where you're going
Wednesday, May. 30, 2007
1:49 a.m.

I just discovered that I live about forty five minutes from the town where George Harrison's sister used to live. Apparently, the house is now a bed and breakfast because in 1963, four or six months before The Beatles played the Ed Sullivan show, George went to visit his sister for a few weeks.

I guess they sort of promote the B&B as "The House Where George Slept". It would only be truly cool if George's sister still lived there, and not in Florida.

George Harrison called my house for my seventeenth birthday. I have a friend who is a huge music collector and Beatle fan as well, and he called in a favour for me for a birthday present.

That was February 2001. Stupidly, somehow, I had the presence of mind to recall that his birthday was less than two weeks away and made certain to wish him a happy birthday. How many people do you know who've wished a rock star happy birthday?

I have the entire conversation written down just about word for word somewhere, but the one thing that sticks out in my mind was that he said he would sing (insert here the insane fan girl squealing that was going on in my head but not in reality because I was trying very very hard to be mature about the whole thing), but he had sort of a throat thing and really shouldn't.

That comment really hit home not ten months later.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------