Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Working
Sunday, Feb. 17, 2008
10:29 p.m.

Opened my Cafepress shop. You can visit and laugh at my attempts to generate some spare income here.

I've got a little gnome doodle and the aforementioned Star Wars contribution up at the moment. I'm still not quick when it comes to Photoshop, but I'm impressed with what I've done, anyway.

All the snow and ice down here melted in the almost sixty degree temperatures today. It's surreal, really, before all the snow, you could see a slight green haze when you drove through the nature preserve. I suspect that the ice killed all of that, but this whole place has been a meteorlogical yo-yo.

There's a show going into tech next week at the university. Of course, to go into tech, it usually helps to have the set done. They're about a week behind schedule. This is the thesis show for the scenic designer and the technical director. The scenic designer will not be passing. She hasn't managed to get drawings on time, she's constantly changing her mind about the way she wants to do things but not putting them in the drawings... It's sad, really, because she's a nice girl and she could do a lot better than this. Unfortunately, it's a case of letting drama interfere with theatre.

The scenic designer is the one busy ruining her marriage with The Womaniser. He works in the shop, and he thinks that he knows better than the TD (Little Jeff) what should be done. So, he fills the scenic designer with ideas, and she decides that he's right, probably because she's well aware that no one approves of her finagling with The Womaniser, and Little Jeff in particular.

A third party stepped in and let her advisor know some of the details of what was happening. He was surprised to learn the depth of her irresponsbility- he'd been giving her the benefit of the doubt since she's "going through a divorce." As The Boy told me, there was a girl last year whose mother died in the middle of her thesis project, and her work was just as good as before.

Remember kids, separate your theatre from your drama. The two don't mix.

Anyway, because of all that, and the being a week behind, I'm going to go in probably all this week to help. I'm more experienced than the stagecraft kids are, and take direction better than the grad students. Basically, I know what all the tools are and how to use them, and if you tell me to do something I'll do it the way you tell me, not some other way that I think will work better, only to find out later that it doesn't.

The biggest problem in theatre is that it becomes your life. It's not like a lot of jobs that are separate from your life. If you think office politics are bad, try mixing office politics with your best friends. That's pretty much what being in theatre is like, because you don't have time to go elsewhere for friends. I suspect it could be done, but they would probably have to be a more eccentric group of friends than theatre people. D&D players, or something.

Though I'm sure that comes with its very own type of drama.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------