Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Working
Monday, Nov. 10, 2008
12:45 p.m.

People are dropping like flies at work. They hired five of us for training at the same time, out of the five of us, two of us are still working.

Now, I've never worked a "real job" in my life, so I'm a bit shocked- is this kind of turnover normal? I know the one girl had to quit because she was going to have some surgery, which is no big deal, and the other one quit because she was a moron.

Seriously. She was the girl that I trained with my first day- little miss "I moved my wedding day up because I found out that I could drink at my wedding even if I'm underage as long as my husband is over. He beats me, but it's OK." I didn't have her pegged to quit so soon, but I knew she wasn't going to last. I am the queen of that first fifteen seconds snap judgment thing, because I am generally spot on. Actually, I can't think of a time I've been wrong.

And then two of their regular folks have either been fired or quit since I started. (I think one of each, actually.)

I report all of this with glee because it makes it all the more likely that I'll get kept on past seasonal and hired.

If this normal, in a way it makes sense that our training was kind of thin and disorganised- if they know half their new staff is going to quit right away, just wait for them to get frustrated and do it.

You know, I have only gotten really decent job training once. Out of four jobs, that says a lot. As a camp counselor we got a week of training that was mostly spent not training us to be camp counselors and instead training us to conform to the council's diversity and child advocacy programmes. That's great, and all, but if you come out of camp counselor training and no one knows how to light a fire... There's a problem, right?

That was probably the worst, because no one was given any sort of expectations, and then expected to adhere to an imaginary set that seemed to keep changing depending on who was telling you what you did wrong.

Next has to come this job just because I really don't feel prepared to do anything even after having been there a month. Like the other day I was busy with a customer and letting the phone go to voicemail because that was the policy at my previous job and no one had said anything about it here. Someone came and let me know, but, geeze, I wish they had said something before now.

Frankly, the policy bugs me because it does not appeal to me as a customer, especially when it's in the middle of actually picking what portraits you're going to buy. I'm in your business, actively planning to spend my money and you'd rather answer the phone?

There wasn't any real training for the scene shop job. But that's because the nature of the job involved having the project pretty much explained to you anyway. I could run power tools without fear and read a tape measure- good to go.

And then the Box Office job was probably the best simply because there really wasn't a lot to have to learn how to do. Well, I take that back. Once they switched to the brand new system it wasn't hard. The old system was a DOS based nightmare that rarely made fixing mistakes anything but a mess, but the browser based one that we got later was nice and intuitive. The first week there was bad, but after that I rarely felt like I screwed anything up just because even when I did, it was easy to fix and I didn't feel stupid. Thanks to the J-Boss for that one.

But I'm probably mostly worried here just because I haven't yet heard that I'm doing anything right or well, which just makes me worry about the amount of things I know I've done wrong. On the other hand, I also know I'm just about the only person they can get to cover if someone else can't come in, which I'm hoping will be remembered.

I'm just paranoid because I do not want to be out on my ass looking for another job in January, because it'd only be for maybe five months.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------