Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Just another Wednesday
Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2007
2:28 p.m.

It's a pleasant 60 degrees down here. My mother told me yesterday that the Great Ice Storm of 07 rages on back in Iowa. They've called it an emergency because power's been out to a greater part of the state. CR turned off power in the city libraries and high schools yesterday so that they could keep power to homes.

WiBill (my brother, I haven't mentioned him in a while) only managed to make it seven blocks to a friend's house when he got off work the night of the storm. He works in a pizza place on a street that's basically a dead end, but it's got lots of kitschey antique stores and semi-pretentious restaraunts so it's called a "junction". Anyway, the junction hadn't been plowed out yet by nine when he got there, he worked a double shift because the second crew didn't come in, and they didn't have a customer all day. My mother thought this was a little rediculous, but the way I look at it, they paid him to deep clean the kitchen and he got extra for working for the other shift too. In a lot of ways, they were doing him a favour, suckage though it probably was.

In the midst of all of this, OldUni still didn't have a snow day.

Still no chance of a Wii in sight. If I can save five bucks a week I could have it next October. Are we allowed to make requests for anniversary gifts? I just talked my mother out of one of those big bushel basket planters. They really only look good if you have something like lavendar planted in them- something tall and full. Besides, I can't imagine trying to move with one of those suckers.

The Boy's grandmother's (on his father's side, the only one he has left) moving into a nursing home. She lives by herself and she can't drive anymore, and The Boy's aunt who still lives down there spends most of her time checking on her. She doesn't like the idea, because her husband was in a nursing home and it cost a lot of money and he was pretty ill. Her situation is different, but she doesn't see things that way.

In reality, she's volunteered at the place for years, up until they took her car away, so she knows most of the people there. The home goes on all kinds of field trips, so she'll actually be out doing things again the way she used to. Like The Boy's father said, right now all she does is sit at home and watch television because her eyes aren't really good enough for sewing or reading anymore. If she's around other people, she'd be better off.

They asked us if we wanted anything. She has one of those antique glider rockers The Boy wants, always has wanted, but I doubt he'll get it. Oddly enough, I think my parents have one like it too. I told him to make sure they ask her if there's anything she wants us to have (The Boy's mother not being one to think about things like that; she's busy thinking of how to fight with some of Nathan's cousins to get some things she wants- I wish I were kidding). She's still alive and functioning: she should have a say in who she wants to have what.

This whole getting old thing just seems like less and less fun.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------