Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Picture the Next Month
Saturday, Feb. 24, 2007
2:10 p.m.

My fourteen year old newphew (Insta-Nephew, The Boy's older brother is six years older and started early) has a MySpace page. While I find this hilarious, I am impressed that he did have the presence of mind to make it a private page. Now, the question is, do I friend him?

This time next month, practically half of The Boy's family is coming to visit: his parents, his younger brother, and the two older nephews (the aforementioned and the nine year old). Younger Brother wanted a vacation from Wal-Mart, and he doesn't drive long distances on his own because he gets lost easily, so the parents are coming. The two nephews were included because it's their spring break and they don't get to go places very often.

We figure since six out of the seven of us are some sort of Superman fans, we'll make the hour or so drive down to Metropolis, the home of Superman. Paducah's twenty minutes from there; I figure we can cross the border to eat lunch just so we can all say we've been to Kentucky. That weekend's also The Boy's birthday.

I just discovered that The Boy has a Nikon Pronea S camera. I would kinda like to play with it, as it's a non-digital camera (is the appropriate term for that analog in this case?, I'm not sure), and I wonder what I could do with it. Needs new batteries, though. I also have an Advantix somewhere, but I was never impressed with the photos I got from it because I never managed to get them processed anyplace that would process Advantix film the way it was supposed to be done.

I guess the thing I love best about digital is that I don't have to charge someone to process my film. I can do it all by myself with stuff I already have. Those are the pictures I do things with, I have boxes full of undeveloped disposable cameras (sent with me to summer camp, field trips, etc), and photos that need to be put into albums or thrown away or something, but I actually use the digital ones.

I vaccumed the floor today. Sadly, that makes me feel incredibly accomplished. The nifty little "dirt sensor" that ours has going green actually makes me feel like something is really being cleaned. Everything else I clean leaves me with a pile of things that needs to find a new and different home. So a clean floor is a nice feeling. I'm leaving my desk a disaster area for a few more weeks. While things being a mess drives me nuts sometimes, if it's my stuff, and it's reconciled to one area, it doesn't bother me so much.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------