Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Under the Weather?
Wednesday, Aug. 09, 2006
3:27 p.m.

A rain storm just passed over us. Literally. It was storming furiously to the north of us, and now it is storming furiously in Kentucky, but here, only thunder.

We did not believe them when they said that severe weather passes over the area. Now, I look at the radar and gasp. It should have poured. We sit right under where it was all big and red and angry looking, but no rain fell, just three or four thunder rumbles.

I'm in the middle of applying for a job with NewUni's publishing department. The guy e-mailed me back specifically to tell me that it wasn't a secretary job. Good, I don't know why anyone would want a secretary job if there were other options. Basically, they publish textbook-y things and dissertations. I have no idea what exactly it is that I'd be doing that isn't secretary work, but they wanted someone interested in publishing (I am because I hope to be someday), strong writing skills (again), and attention to detail. Well, two out of three isn't bad.

Depends on the detail, though, I guess. I've been considering sending the MySpace people a letter about all of their spelling errors. Bothers me when a huge website has multiple spelling errors. One or two is perhaps OK, especially when they're in places that update a lot, but when it's the same thing misspelled...

Anyway, if I don't get that job, who knows whether I would find anything else. Most of the other things I've looked at want nights and weekends, and that doesn't jive with the theatre.

I've been doing a lot of reading. Basically, I've been re-reading children's books at the same time I read On the Road. I keep finishing the children's books.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------