Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Deer and Letters
Friday, Aug. 11, 2006
12:53 p.m.

When I was cleaning my room, I found a letter to myself at 35. I opened it because all I remember about it was that I picked 35 because I know my memory. I found things I remember vividly where I got them and why I had them, and I picked 35 because I figured that would be how long it took for me to forget whatever it was I wrote.

Since I had no idea, I opened it. I certainly wasn't betraying the spirit of the letter being thirteen years early. I can't find it now, it's in a box someplace, but I think I will post it sometime. Mostly, it doesn't tell me anything I would expect it to tell me, only that I wish I had written more.

We had a family of deer outside yesterday. As in two does and a faun standing in the road outside the front window looking in. The deer population down here is of massive proportions. Designer Mark says that there are few people who have lived here any amount of time that haven't hit one. NewUni puts up a brochure on the website warning students to stay away from the deer in the woods and the lake on campus (it's not much of a woods). I guess someone was killed recently by a mother and six or seven people have been in hospital at one time or another.

Honestly, how can you be stupid enough to be attacked by deer and have to be hospitalised, or killed? I understand car accidents, it's dark, you can't see them, they leap out at you, etc. But when you're in a field, and they're in a field, if you're close enough to get hurt, what are you doing in college?

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------