Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Snow finished
Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005
5:02 p.m.

Proof that the precession of the equinoxes continues ravaged the state these past two days. What would have been a Christmas Winter Wonderland eighty years ago became, yesterday and today, a Back to School Nightmare. Brother Wibill (sounds almost like a Reverend for some funky religion rather than my brother William who can't make up his mind what his name is) said that Tuesday was the first snow day since my junior year of high school.

This is the snowfall as of Tuesday at noon from my basement level apartment.

And this is today at noon.

To celebrate all this fun, I went out to dig the car out of the snow. Since the snow came halfway up my legs, I decided that I'd better try to keep dry, and ended up wearing a pair of sweatpants under Nathan's jeans. My winter coat is a huge goose-down affair, and with the hood up I looked like a man.

At the same time I was out, there was a guy shovelling the walks. He didn't pay me any mind at all until I put down the hood on my coat, at which time he was over in two seconds to offer help. I didn't really need it, but he was being polite. Still, things like that get on my nerves because I doubt he would've helped me had he thought I was a guy. However, we live in a society of women who demand to be treated as equals, but still want men to open doors for them.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------