Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
I'll look up that 12-letter word you played with all the Xs and Js!
Saturday, Feb. 09, 2008
10:13 p.m.

I love Scrabble. Unfortunately, the only person who would ever agree to play with me on a regular basis was my brother.

My brother and I, well, apparently the way we play games is unique. Maybe this will serve as an example. We have Super Tennis for SNES that we bought for a couple bucks just before the N64 came out. It was one of the very first games for the SNES, and it's actually a pretty nice game, but compared to some of those later SNES graphics it's really primitive.

Our favourite extra in this game, though, was when one of us would foul the ball, because you can still hit it after the foul. And we would. Our efforts mostly centered on seeing how many times we could send the ball back before the game kicked us into the next part of the actual game. Chasing the ball boy and attempting to run around the net (in spite of the invisible barrier) were other things that we did regularly. I play with The Boy now, and he doesn't understand why I do these things automatically, and refuses to participate.

So, since we played Scrabble from a similar perspective, our games tended to resemble "Balderdash" more than anything else. You know Balderdash, that game where you're given a real word, and you're supposed to invent a definition for it? We played Scrabble the opposite way, invent a word and definition for that word and try to convince each other the word was real. This came about mostly because my father's dictionary was the only one in the house and we were pretty much forbidden to touch it.

So, I tend to play Scrabble from the point of view that "qwyjibo" is a word if I can convince you that it is, and "zqfmgb" is a worm in New Guinea. (My infinite respect to anyone who knows both referances sans Google.) TB not only refuses to play with me based on the fact that I can trounce the pants off him with regular words, but he's absolutely terrified that I might use words that don't even exist and convince him that such words do exist.

Enter Facebook and Scrabulous. At least with Scrabulous, you don't have to play the "challenge" game, so the game will limit you to normal words from the outset. Keeps me from being too bizarre (though there are some medical terms the game doesn't appear to know). It's nice to be able to play Scrabble again. Even if it won't let me play "zqfmgb".

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------