Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Blood and Pasta Sauce
Monday, Sept. 17, 2007
5:35 p.m.

So, when you're dreaming about murder, sex, and intrigue, the last thing you want is to be woken up with demands for deodorant.

I was dreaming about a woman whose daughter was going to marry a man, but the marriage never took place because the daughter suddenly died. All through my dream there were hints that the old woman was not as she seemed and there were traces of blood and spider motifs throughout the house. The dinner over the old woman's death bed was just ending, the man had confronted the woman, who pulled out a piece of bloody ruffled fabric with the words, "She promised me-"

and the phone rang.

It was The Boy, who had gone off late to work and in the process had managed to forget seven or eight important things. Needless to say, sleep after that was out of the question and I have no idea how my dream was supposed to resolve. It's even worse because being awakened so quickly/abruptly startled out a lot of the details and I can only remember vague images.

Apparently, my dreams believe in recycling. It's not that I'll have the same dreams over and over again, but certain elements of various dreams will be similar. It's like my brain has a bunch of stock set pieces and it pulls them out and uses them in completely different surroundings.

Like the basement. This basement appears all the time in my dreams. It isn't my basement, it isn't a basement I know. It's an unfinished basement in concrete and stone. It's dark and dry, and there are spiders that hang from the ceiling. Sometimes the spiders figure in the plot of the dream, but they generally are just there. Most of the time there's an associated feeling of something hidden in the basement. Well, maybe hidden isn't the right word, there's a mystery that needs solving.

I said there were blood and spider motifs throughout the house, though, which probably comes from staying up far too late last night reading a plot summary of the movie Dead Again ("I kick ass for the Lord!"), and doing a little bit of looking at the Nintendo game Monster Party. I-Mockery.com has an article mentioning the fact that the game was never released in Japan and had to be significantly changed before it was released in America because it didn't comply with Nintendo's US standards- lots and lots of severed heads and dripping blood. It's 18 bit excessive gore, but gore nonetheless. Monster Party is made more interesting by the fact that, apparently, a lot of that weirdness wasn't edited. There's an animated .gif of the two title screens that's kinda hypnotising.

There's just something about a two second (or shorter) loop that makes my brain not want to look at anything else. That David Hasselhoff animation where he continues to grow out of his own crotch? (Not as graphic as it sounds, but just as weird.) It's like a magnet. Same goes for those clips of clapping crowds.

Er, anyway. Wednesday brings us International Talk Like a Pirate Day. I've been celebrating ITLAPD since my conversion to Pastafarianism shortly after it came about. If I had friends, I would totally be having a party. I wonder if I can find ITLAPD e-cards with a Pastafarian slant?

Hmmmm. Sounds like an untapped niche market.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------