Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Moving Money
Monday, Nov. 15, 2004
10:20 a.m.

Oddly enough, things have a way of working out. Nathan asked whether I would really like it if we moved out of the dorms at the end of the semester. That answer being yes, we're going to Financial Aid today to find out whether moving is actually possible in terms of our relative poverty.

His mother thinks there's no possible way we can afford it, and I'm inclined to agree with her except that if there is any way to make it work, I am all for it. Nathan thinks it's a possibility as long as Residence doesn't decide to charge us 30% of what we owe on next semester, which it has the right to do, apparently, and as long as our financial aid doesn't change.

As well as that, the Grown-Ups are willing to give me their 1990 Dodge Shadow. The hitch? It's a manual, so I would have to learn to drive it. In addition to that it needs a new clutch, the tires need rotating, the floor's rusting out, it is necessary that it go 70 to go uphill, and I couldn't park it on any sort of incline. But it would be wheels and an engine and it would be free because the Grown-Ups will fix the clutch. I also wouldn't have to buy my own insurance. All things considered, if it lasts me the next two years it would be a good deal.

The biggest problem right now is that we wouldn't have a bed. Really Nathan wants a Sleep Number Bed. If it does what it's supposed to do, he needs it. Unfortunately, they're expensive. Really expensive, so we'd have to come up with something to use in the meanwhile. Nathan is really too tall to sleep comfortably on the futon if I'm on it too. We do have a sofa bed we salvaged from the dumpster two summers ago. It was supposed to go to his brother Ryan, but Ryan didn't want it and the thing has since made its home in his parent's basement. I suppose we might be able to use that for a while.

Time to hope for a Miracle on 34th Street, the old black and white, not the new one. We need something like the real deal rather than just a nice old man with a beard.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------