Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
The Lee of the Stone
Tuesday, Jul. 25, 2006
7:20 p.m.

We are giving up cable. In some ways I am extremely glad, because as far as flipping through random shit, the Internet is just as good and much more interactive.

BUT, tomorrow is Wednesday night. Tomorrow I will say good bye to Jamie and Adam and begin a year without them. Tomorrow the con will officially be off as I won't have any AMC on which to watch Hustle. But perhaps worst of all is that I will be leaving my Public Television Station behind.

The state has one of the best public stations in the country, mostly due to the fact that it is chock full of British comedy. I was raised on Are You Being Served Tom Baker and Peter Davison as Doctor Who and, eventually, Monty Python's Flying Circus. Many more shows have come and gone and I have seen them all. If it's a dead and gone British comedy of any reknown, I have seen it, and I will miss knowing that it's not likely to be on.

Looking at the line up from the service broadcast out of NewUni, I will be limited to Python, Mystery! and live in hope that Masterpiece Theatre will be decent. Losing Dr. Who is especially hard since they've just begun to get into really good Tom Baker, still Sarah Jane Smith instead of Romana, but worth it. My computer doesn't start up with the sound of the Tardis for nothing.

We move on the 31st, so this may be my last lengthy post. We haven't really begun to pack yet. There are boxes all over the place, and we've probably got three fourths of the books packed, and two kitchen cupboards, but that's about it.

I have a feeling this won't be a terribly fun experience. We've got insurance to change and licenses to get and courses to sign up for and bills out the wazoo that we won't really be able to pay until we get financial aid. I can feel myself worrying, so I think I'll stop and try to fill a couple more boxes.

Props to anyone who knows the relevance of the title.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------