Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Too tired to be writing, doing it anyway
Sunday, Jul. 30, 2006
6:06 p.m.

Technically my Internet is off now. I'm typing from the laptop balanced on top of a craft box on the living room floor. It's not my fault if other people don't protect their wireless connections, now is it?

Almost everything is packed into the fourteen foot truck sitting in the parking lot. It took four-ish people four-ish hours to pack all of it, but we still have what looks to be two or three hours of cleaning ahead of us before bedtime. Right now, Nathan's taking a nap in order to do said cleaning after dinner, which is coming from I don't know where.

Nathan's parents thought we could have gotten everything into his F-250 with a six foot foot trailer on the end. If you could see the truck, you would agree they were full of it. My parents, on the other hand, were worried we'd have to get the next size up.

Actually, there's a story about the F-250. It's a manual, I can't drive it and even if I could, his truck is a big handful (if I did learn drive it, I bet I could probably parallel park a tank in a pinch). Unfortunately, the moving truck, though an automatic, is more than I can handle- I have trouble with reverse on my little Lumina. We don't know anyone else who was free for the weekend who was good at either of those jobs but Nathan. Tood was going to help, but he ended up being called into work.

The original plan, when we called around, was to put the F-250 up on a trailer. Only one of the moving places said they could do that. Well, I take that back, they said they could put on an F series truck. Everyplace else specifically said they couldn't take an F-250. We decided that meant we could take a 250 on the trailer. Nope, the company called us up to verify that it was a 150 we were trying to trailer. Apparently they have a weight limit that's 400 lbs under what the F-250 weighs. Which means the only way we could do it would be to take the tires off, maybe. Luckily, my grandparents' house was still an option, and it will either stay there until Thanksgiving or the first chance we can make a sixteen hour drive to get the truck.

Actually, sixteen hours is there and back. Tomorrow we drive eight hours to NewTown. My brother is being more awesome than I have ever known him to be in his entire life by driving down to help. He took off work, which basically means he flushed 200 bucks down the toilet to help and then drive back by himself. He was our last ditch effort because we figured he wouldn't want to do it in the first place, but then both Tood and Younger Brother Ryan ended up not being able to ask for two or three days off. Sometimes the kid is totally useless for absolutely everything, but now and again he'll come through. Almost makes up for his being an asshole the rest of the time.

The Internet Gods will be at NewAbode on Tuesday or Wednesday, so like as not it won't feel as though I've been gone at all. Time to go memorise my new address and phone number. I'm still not used to a new last name.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------