Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Gone fishing
Monday, Apr. 11, 2005
10:17 a.m.

Saturday I wrote an e-mail to the members of the group I am doing a class project with. While I wrote it to everyone, it was directed specifically so that Annoyance Eric could understand it (Friend is not at all the correct term in this case).

Annoyance Eric has a habit of being completely unable to grasp anything more complex than a simple task repeated to him twelve or thirteen times. Unfortunately, he also has an incredibly short fuse and so if he feels compromised, he tends to scream and yell like a two year old.

I'm serious.

About seven times in the course of the e-mail I stated that if anyone had anything to say, please send your reply to everyone in the group. I said it directly, I alluded to it, I said it in all caps, for crying out loud. This morning, I received an e-mail from Annoyance Eric. Just me, no one else.

I'm ignoring it. I did my best and simple instructions still won't sink in. Maybe this seems harsh, but after dealing with this sort of thing on a daily basis, it is the final straw. I don't care if it is a disability. If you're at uni, you should be able to complete simple tasks and follow directions, it's as simple as that. If you can't, you shouldn't be at uni.

Class scheduling here at uni is done first by class designation, then by grade point, and then alphabetically. This seems to be as fair as could possibly be managed: those who have done the most work are allowed to register for classes because they have less time left before graduation. It's a little unfortunate that Aaron Aadams gets to register before Zion Zebrudsky, but they both at least have a 3.2, so the difference may only be a matter of hours rather than weeks.

An exception is made, however, for those with "disabilities"- they register before everyone else. They register before 4.0 seniors. This means that like as not Annoyance Eric got to register weeks ago, this means that Aquaintence Soike who still takes Ritalin got to register weeks ago.

This is higher education. Why are we giving people a helping hand through the university? I looked forward to uni for years on the simple fact that the ignorant people I hated through elementary and secondary education would not be able to get in and we could spend our time learning rather than playing games.

We're still playing games, because this is America and we'll Leave No Child Behind even if they're a mental goldfish. We'll get them through college and give them an executive job someplace where they can continue to run the country right into the ground thank-you-very-much-Georgie-Boy.

Not that I'm bitter.

No.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------