Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Theatrical events
Friday, Oct. 01, 2004
12:26 p.m.

My first Midsummer rehearsal is tomorrow. This should not be such an incredibly huge deal, except for the fact that it is an incredibly huge deal. It's a two minute scene from the show, if two minutes. Ren and David are my two actors, Ren as Hermia and David as Demetrius. Tomorrow we get to read the script and do all that fun "what's this word mean? what is the metre of this line?" I really do find this stuff fun, but I'm not certain yet how to make it fun for them.

I'm also starting a scene from A Doll's House with friend Joe. It's going to be fun if we have the time to do it, but I don't know if we do.

I'm House Manager for Ubu Roi and busy trying to drum up some ushers. It's hard to get students to ush when they get to see the show for free without ushing. Most students wouldn't go to see a show anyway.

The other day I gave a guy directions from the stadium since it was the only building I named that he recognised on campus. The Communications Building, the Art Building, the Union, nope, the stadium. I've been there three times in the three years I've been there, so I'm certain my directions were anything but helpful. Then I ask him to confirm his address- he lives in the dorm right across the street from the theatre.

I started writing because there's nothing to do for work. We're supposed to be swamped because there's some rap group or something performing in a few weeks. Tickets go on sale today and since the whole university is on the same system, the Theatre gets permission to sell those too. However, I'm off work now.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------