Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
An e-mail
Thursday, Mar. 24, 2005
1:09 p.m.

A few days ago I received this e-mail. It wasn't a virus, nor was it for "Gr eat Dd.rugs" as the subject suggested (not that I was hoping).

Hello,

had received the news of Monmouth's death. But one shameful thin them was to be read in the lamentations with which they disturbed the young Somersetshire shipmaster he came to a halt, and stood a fail to be aware of what is known even in England: that this fell surprisingly cool, they thought. Maybe there'll be no need to t that the defenders were being driven steadily back. By sunset tw It will be for to-morrow morning, he was answered with calm He stalked out, and his three captains - although they thought hi distinguished Spaniard delivered from captivity in Barbados by yo them, and from her poop a gun fired a salute. Come, said Blood. I have been clear enough, I think. What do can say that, and in spite of his message, which in itself tells It's not money I'll require, said he, but the boat itself. Fo swiftly converted into helpless prey. For helpless the Spaniards nearer on their north-westerly tack, the outlines of the blazing

Have a good day.

I find it extremely interesting because it looks like it's actually something, but the way it appears it ceases to mean anything. Sort of like listening to a presidential speech.

Looking up some of the more cognisant phrases on the Internet, I found out it's from a 1922 pirate adventure book called Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini. This e-mail sounds like a badly translated Chinese version translated back into English and then chopped. The e-mail comes from Chapter Eleven, "Filial Piety".

The other thing that interests me is that this e-mail failed to do anything pernitious. It hasn't sent any virii, it hasn't erased my hard drive, it hasn't seemed to send other mail to me, all it did was alert me to the existance of Sabatini's book.

Now I'm going to have to read the book.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------