Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
No comment
Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
2:01 p.m.

I feel sorry for every woman who has ever tried to find a dress to get married in one of those temple weddings. They're supposed to have covered shoulders (often full sleeves, even) and conservative necklines. It's dang near impossible. I'm not Jewish or anything, but I've never been one for tank tops and flashing my tits around. Besides that, an outdoor May wedding does not promise to be a particuarly balmy day.

Unfortunately, popular culture has never conformed to my desires. Everyone likes looking like a hoebag, and apparently overly much on their wedding day. Why bother with a white dress to symbolise innocence and purity if the entire congregation can look all the way down your cleavage?

All I want is your basic A-line or empire (I'm not sure which would look better on me yet) dress in green velvet, or even cotton, with a higher neckline and some semblance of sleeves. That's all I want. I don't want fricken silk or satin or any of that shiny, nasty feeling material. I don't want lots of intricate beading. I don't want a bigass train. I want something easy, which is incredibly hard when nothing like that is being made.

I have five different designs I drew myself, but I'm sure if I took them anyplace around here they'd laugh at me and tell me, "we don't do that, not for less than a million bucks at least. Here, why don't you look at this ivory silk, bustled, spaghetti strap thing that's fabulous."

Ugh. I keep reading all these articles and things that are all, you can do pretty much whatever you want, as long as you send the invitations out between four and six weeks in advance, anything else goes. In real life, that means "everybody else likes this, so that's what you're supposed to want too". We went and talked to a woman about a reception place and I thought her eyebrows were going to fly right off her head when we first said we weren't having dancing and then said we weren't having alcohol. She even went so far as to say, "you really think you're going to have this many people?"

Damn. Everything I've just described makes it sound like I'm a backwoods Southern Baptist. Conservative dress for me, no dancing, no alcohol... Am I that boring?

Don't answer that, please. In fact, nobody say anything about this entry. I just want to shoot it out so I at least feel that I'm not brooding all to myself, but I don't want to think about it anymore.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------