Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Abort Mission?
Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005
12:49 p.m.

Nano is a cruel and exacting mistress. At the moment she's taken on something of a sado-masochistic tendancy, beating me into submission for my really inexcusable performance to date. In other words, I'm something like 9000 words behind schedule and not particuarly pleased about it.

So, I have fled that vile temptress as best I can for the moment to come here... to write. Kind of a Catch-22, isn't it? Fleeing one writing project for another writing project?

However, there's been a bit of a change to the old "Plan for the Rest of My Life" and I thought it would probably be good for me to expound a little bit about it.

Originally, the plan was that Nathan and I would go and find a uni with programmes for both of us. There are something like three in the whole country. One of them is in Georgia, one of them is in North Dakota, and the other was in Southern Illinois. Figuring that as long as we had to be trapped in a culteral void, Illinois was probably our best bet, we've been pretty much assuming that was the place for us to go.

And then I realised that I don't really know what their graduate programme has to offer me. I've looked at UCLA and Northwestern, and I like those programmes. If I were going to go to a school, that would be the sort of programme I would want to get into. But, since we've pretty much decided Nathan's going to be the one in the relationship with a steady paycheck, he has to go where he has to go. So, should I get into a programme just to say that I did it?

Realising that, a big part of me said no and asked me where I really needed to be if I couldn't be in a grad school. With a little research, the answers are: Minneapolis (the largest concentration of theatres in the US that isn't NYC), NYC, or Chicago.

I don't think NYC is for me. I'm not sure about Chicago, but Chicago isn't for Nathan. Minnesota is really the place for me, they've got the Playwright's Center, so I could apply for grants to write and soforth for playwrights who live in-state. It's also a good support group, which is more of what I need. In addition, there is a uni there that offers a programme for Nathan.

So, this is what we are looking at. Originally, this had been considered, but the school has a GPA requirement that the boy doesn't meet at this time. He says, though, that considering what he wants to do, universities will sleep with you to get you in their programmes. Well, sleep with you, give you oodles of money and bend the admission rules, whatever. So, though not the current real line of thought, it's definately Plan B.

The new worry? If that doesn't pan out, we're back to where we were, and I don't know if there's a good Plan C. Time is running out.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------