Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Blinded Me With Science
Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2005
8:48 p.m.

Karaoke with Miss Annie and company tonight. I was worried I wouldn't be able to go because for the last three nights I have been up until Hours of the Ridiculous finishing projects. However, I am eerily homework free (am I forgetting something?).

Nathan's just been watching them crash a plane. He's disappointed that it wasn't terribly exciting. And yet he berates me for referring to that day in September as "The Coolest Special Effect Ever".

Been watching Adam and Jamie, my Mythbusting Heros. I reiterate, all science classes ever should be just like this show. If every Friday an entire class of ten year olds could believe they were going to die in a horrific explosion, heck, that'd be my favourite class ever. THAT, my friends, makes you want to do science.

Some of the coolest things I ever did in science class were not related to what we were s'posed to be doing. In fourth grade we were each given a light bulb, copper wire, and a C or D cell battery. After making the light go on that way, about ten of us decided that if it sort of worked for ONE battery, what would happen if we joined batteries? We got about twelve lined up and connected the wires together before the lamp burnt out in a poof that delighted us.

In fifth grade we did the "white powder" experiment. They gave us six white powders- probably salt, sugar, flour, corn starch, baking soda, and powdered sugar. We had water, vinager, and iodine to test them with. The coolest thing that happened was the teacher pretty much left us alone to do the experiment. So, of course, we mixed things together that we weren't s'posed to.

We managed to get some combination of the stuff turn into a sort of glue, and some other stuff into a slimey sort of mess. We got rid of most of the baking soda just playing with the vinegar. Everything else we just tasted. We figured if she didn't think it was important to watch four ten year olds with powders we had been told not to eat, we probably weren't going to get hurt.

Is it sad that it's been that long since I've done a nifty science experiment?

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------