Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Which St. Anthony?
Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2005
2:32 p.m.

Leo the Russian is back from Russia. I'm officially his assistant director for a play that will probably end up on our thrust stage. It's a French play about St. Anthony and a little "reincarnate a dead lady" mishap in which he winds up in an asylum. I didn't catch the title, the playwright, or which particular St. Anthony. Depending on what you read there were between 7 and 17 of them actually canonised. If you count the Venerable and Blessed ones too, there are upwards of thirty.

Leo said this is sort of going to be The Passion of the Christ uni style. The idea he has, I think, is to convince the area churches that we're not bad guys, as a past production of Corpus Christi seems to have convinced them.

It's been a fairly long time since I've really had any touch with religion, other than discussions with Nathan that because I have trouble beleiving that Jesus was who they say he is, I can't really be comfortable even giving lip service to Christianity.

I find that worse, actually. I could never live with myself if I pretended to be something I couldn't believe in: being a closeted heretic would be too much to bear.

Closeted heretic... did I really just write that? Wow. "We've begun! We're pagan! Get used to it!" It just isn't the same at all.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------