Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Musical Delights
Saturday, Dec. 11, 2004
6:24 p.m.

Today I have discovered the joy of Internet radio. I have a deep love of Christmas music, but a deplorable amount of Christmas CDs- three Manneheim Steamroller's that Friend Brandy made for me back in high school. I have a hard time finding Christmas music I like because everyone and their mother (and that includes several domestic animals, too) has made a cover of every Christmas song ever. Here in the middle of nowhere, I cannot get the nearest radio station playing non-stop Christmas music. But, I just found out I can get it on the Internet.

I am unnaturally ecstatic because I found a station that doesn't play contemporary music. I think it stops sometime in the 60's or 70's. It's still not quite fabulous, though. While I don't get Britney Spears' I Joined Mommy Fucking Santa Claus, I still get Judy Garland, whom I don't dote on overmuch.

For example, now I have Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra, at the same time, singing me Christmas songs. This is fabulous. I cannot believe it took me this long to find out about this.

I probably sound like a geriatric, don't I? OK, new subject.

When I was a kid, I read CS Lewis' The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, and I always wondered what Turkish Delight was. Eventually, since I'd never seen it in the candy stores, I assumed it was some sort of candy Lewis had invented. Then I met my Favourite English Girl Angel, who informed me that no, it's a real candy and they have it in that wonderful country in which she lives. She said it was a cross gelatin covered in chocolate. I was aghast, not only did they have Cadbury's, they had chocolate covered gelatin? And I had been in the country for two days once and didn't know about it? Why did they not hand out this sort of information at the airport when they stamped your passport: "Things Americans Should Not Leave This Country Without Experiencing"?

Luckily, Favourite English Girl Angel sent me some by way of Friend Stimpy who went to England on the way back from her Swiss nannying gig. (I have such awesome friends, why is my life so boring?)

I have three papers to write before Wednesday, and I have to get my Christmas cards done, and I have to pack for moving next week, I think I'll go try to get a start on that.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------