Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Music you can feel in your ass
Sunday, Mar. 26, 2006
10:42 p.m.

Last night's concert was... OK. The opening act I don't care for much, but I will say the volume on it was fantastic. Then the main act came up, along with the volume control. It was rediculous. We were sitting in the third row of the stadium seats, there were probably 50 to 100 rows of floor seats in front of us, and we could still feel the bass, and the trebel. If this were a band that just made noise, it wouldn't have been so bad, but the thing about this guy is that he does actually play music. He puts at least one instrumental on his albums, he's a fairly talented singer. Why would he want to drop notes left and right just so the drunks can still feel the music even when they're passed out?

It was good, but it wasn't as good as it could've been. The other two concerts we've gone to were better than this one, and we paid the most for this one, so it was a little bit disappointing.

And then Friends David and Juice's band. They're getting better, much much better. David's still the only one with any consistant stage presence, but most people want to get him out of the band and put the other guitarist as the leader because he's the better musician.

Let's put it this way, they want John and George to trade places. Who would you really want to hear most from in the Cavern? You want to listen to John talk, great if George can play, but, well, he's not exactly the small-talk with the audience type. Probably if David were a little less of an attention whore things wouldn't be so bad.

The only other thing people had to compain about was that they thought it was way too loud. By that point, since it wasn't music that you could feel in your ass, I didn't think it was much of a problem.

So I didn't get my homework done, and I didn't fill out numerous forms that will allow me to continue living life as I know it, but the website's all updated and we've got something to take to the printer's for invitations.

Trust me, that's not as unproductive as it sounds. I've just spent the last three and a half hours and three computer programmes trying to work out how to get four copies of the same text on the same piece of paper in a way that you can make only two cuts and get all four of them the exact same size and alignment. (Sounds like the sort of thing they put on the Mensa test, doesn't it?) If I sound incredibly lame for not being able to work that out, understand that I was two hours into the project before I remembered Nathan has Publisher, which I'd never done anything with, but figrued ought to be able to do things like I needed.

I was stumped by the fact that no printer in the world (at least not either of the ones I'm aquainted with) will print more than .55 inches from the edge. That .05 was making a big difference, until I realised that in Publisher I could flip the text on the bottom half of the page and all would be spiffy.

The website would've been a lot faster if I hadn't had to update the links on every single individual page. I suppose there's probably an easier way than HTML to do it, but my skillz only go so far.

Then there was the two hour phone conversation with my mother about the wording for the invitations. I think she may have decided that arguing with me does not get us anywhere, because she hasn't done it for a while- I can't possibly just be making intelligent decisions for once.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------