Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Carpet mold and the Tony awards
Monday, Jun. 06, 2005
1:16 p.m.

It stormed really nicely here a couple of days ago, and the after effects still linger. It would seem that the foundations of our building are none too waterproof and we had water leaking in all that night. Since we have carpet, there isn't much we can do about it, and since we can't do much about it, the place reeks.

The thought of telling the building guys has occured to us, of course. But, short of making us move all the furniture and maybe telling us we need new carpet, they couldn't do much. And right now, we don't want new carpet installed because it would mean replacing all the carpet in here. Somehow the entire apartment has been carpeted with one single piece of carpet. We don't have enough tile to put all the furniture on in the meanwhile.

So we've got the windows open and fans going. You wouldn't think that a two by six rectangle of damp would make that much stink.

My mother sent me an e-mail address for Friend Carin. We went to high school together and I've not seen or heard anything from her since then. Getting back in touch with her reminds me of all the people I am so out of touch with. A bunch of people from the class below me have websites so I keep up with some of them by proxy, but everyone else I knew, I don't really know much about.

Last night was the Tony Awards. Broadway is in trouble. I love Monty Python, but if Spamalot won best musical, Broadway is in trouble. Billy Crystal's "stage event" or whatever it's called is the biggest grossing non-musical on Broadway in about 50 years or something. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is now a Broadway musical. I knew things were getting Disneyfied up there, but I didn't know it was that bad.

This is the first time I've been able to catch it in a couple years and it's amazing how out of touch I am now. Back in high school I could tell you pretty much everything new on Broadway and whether the revivals were any good. But I have a new list of plays to read since Doubt and Democracy both look like really good plays.

I was glad to see all of the people recognising their partners on television without any cause for surprise, blurring the picture or dubbing the sound (like they did through Chita Rivera who swore so much I have no idea what she was supposed to be saying). Of course, to the close-minded people of the world this is just what happens to theatre people, especially since La Cage aux Folles took best revival of a musical. We need to make a world where it's just as normal for a man to thank his husband as his wife for helping and supporting.

Yet again, folks, the difference between theatre and television. Television has to be "safe", "approved", and theatre doesn't, because it refuses to be.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------