Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Star Wars
Friday, May. 20, 2005
12:46 p.m.

Wednesday night was the midnight opening of Star Wars. Nathan and I remembered at nine o clock (he had said about a month ago that he sort of wanted to go, apparently an audience of Star Wars nerds is more fun than an audience of normal people), and realised there was no way this was going to happen, about which I was sort of releived. I like Star Wars, don't get me wrong. In middle school I was a Star Wars nerd- I knew all kinds of weirdass stuff about the OT and I could do really good Princess Leia impersonations. I will still back PL against her mother any day as a better character, role model, and all around way more attractive person.

Anyway, since the movie theatre is on the backside of the Hy Vee we were at when we remembered, I asked him to drive round the back just to look at the crowds. He told me there was no way there would be anyone there at nine o clock, but we'd drive 'round anyway.

Au contraire mes amis, there were about eighty people lined up outside the theatre. Several of them obviously in mocked up Jedi robes and carrying plastic toy light sabers, but there was one fully decked out Storm Trooper.

Do you know how much candy that guy probably had hidden in there!? Heck, he proably had one of those long Wal-Mart popcorn tubes shoved down one of the legs.

Still reading my way through GWTW. The copy is full of typos. I understand that it's a thousand pages, but sometimes they leave out whole words. Why couldn't they hire a thousand people to read and proof one page? You give them a crappy t-shirt that says "I helped write GWTW" and send them on their way. It just bugs hell out of me that professional proofreaders don't always pay that much attention. I understand they're only human, but still.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------