Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Long road
Thursday, Apr. 21, 2005
1:40 p.m.

Two years today for Nathan and me. It seems like forever and the blink of an eye at the same time.

I've been learning to drive a manual recently. I'm not so good in the driving department in the first place (not having gotten my license until this past summer), but the car the Grown Ups gave me is a manual, so a manual I must learn to drive. (Wow, that sentence makes it sound like I got a car, rather than a fifteen year old piece of crap with many dubious quirks.) Yesterday I probably drove twenty miles killing the engine about four or five times and only making the tires squeal like an action movie two or three times.

I'm perfectly fine until we add other cars to the driving experience. Intersections are my own new personal hell- and I used to think high school phys ed was hellish. Basically, I do not trust perfect strangers who I know do not even obey speed posts. How do I know they won't go flying off the handle, creating their own on-ramps and basically driving like Texans? (I was on a school trip to Dallas once and the driving there was more terrifying than it is in Paris.)

But anyway, the drive was out to the middle of nowhere to see a place where we could have the wedding: ceremony, reception, everything. It's very outdoorsy, but it has a building, in case of rain. The pictures on the place's website don't really do it justice, and we forgot a camera, but it's actually relatively impressive and only about 700 or 800 to rent for two days. The downside is the middle of nowhere-ness, but it's only 20 minutes away from CF, and the directions would be stupidly easy.

The only other real worry is the train track that runs right along the parking lot. Nathan commented that he could picture it now: To have and to hold as long as you both shall- WHOO-WHOO! However, the crossing hasn't got anything more than a stop sign, no indicators, no lights. I think it's abandoned and they just don't want people peeling over it at forty mph.

I know that the whole thing isn't for more than a year, but I also know that spring semester next year is going to be a mess. Trying to pass classes and graduating and putting together a wedding and being accepted to grad school and starting to find a place to move just doesn't sound like a lot of fun all at the same time. I'm all about having as much of the wedding taken care of as much in advance as possible.

So tonight we're talking about going to the restaurant that Nathan wants to have cater. He works at Local Roadhouse Theatre and they get catering from this place all the time. He raves. I know nothing about it except that it gets honourable mention for caterers in town, and first place goes to Hy-Vee. Now, I think Hy-Vee is disgusting, but I don't know whether they took service into a higher account than food, or if it was a best value sort of decision. At any rate, this catering place also has a restaurant, so we can go and The Picky One (me) can see whether there's anything edible.

Tomorrow is the Box Office Party. We get food and pottery painting, which is very cool. It is also the culmination of the Jesus's Ladder of Literacy (patent pending) competition. Friend Kym and I agreed to tie at 18 plays, because we've read twice as many as the next competitor. We figured that since we both worked twice as hard as everybody else we both ought to be rewarded.

As far as yesterday's entry is concerned, I don't know when I'll continue it. I have more, but I have to decide which direction I want it to go first. Watch this space for updates, I suppose. Oh, and entries. Eh, just come here all the time and read everything I have to say, like usual.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------