Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Relative Promotion
Saturday, Mar. 17, 2007
2:08 p.m.

Later today, I drive back to St. Louis to pick The Boy up from the airport. His plane gets in at ten, so I'm trying to decide when to get there. Certainly, I don't want to drive in the dark and the traffic amongst the drunks, so leaving at seven is out of the question. But, I don't know what to do with myself for several hours if I leave at three (sitting in the airport to raise suspicion is out of the question). I suppose that gives me three hours in the mall, but that's a lot of time to spend for a person who doesn't really like shopping.

Remember I mentioned finding Oldest Nephew on MySpace a couple entries back? He friended me himself, and I've discovered that he's pretty much exactly the sort of guy I would've despised if we were in the same class. So, I was extremely surprised to see that I made his top three friends, and was recently promoted to number one. Though my guess on that is that he's not on good terms with the "lil short hottie" who had that distinction previously.

But, it surprises me because I've seen him and his brothers maybe four times in the past year or so. I'd say Oldest Nephew is in desperate need of some more friends. That or I hit it pretty close to the mark when I assumed that I was the only "adult" he knew who didn't treat him like he was a little kid. At any rate, I told him I figured it was a symbol of high MySpace dorkdom to have any relatives in your top list, so I considered it a pretty high honor from him.

My reasons for that are partly selfish- I know up until a year or so ago all four of those boys' favourite relative was their other aunt (you remember her, the now preganant, smoking, drinking, stealing liar?). I think I can live with the promotion.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------