Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Possibilities
Monday, Jun. 11, 2007
10:21 p.m.

I got a brand new mouse. The old one got to the end of its warranty and decided it didn't want to behave itself anymore. The right mouse button had been sticking for a long time, and then today it began to click all by itself.

Whee! Short of getting some of that liquid air and hoping it was dirt, I didn't think there was anything to do about it, but since it was clicking on its own, I figured the air wouldn't help.

I don't like getting used to a new mouse, but it's not as bad as getting used to a new keyboard.

Why, yes, that is the most exciting thing going on in my life at the moment, why do you ask?

My parents arrived on Thursday and left this morning. That wasn't quite as irritating as a visit from them usually is. It's not that my family doesn't get along, we just try to do things to make each other happy and fail miserably.

I would say that the sucess of their visit was a not such a gentle reminder that I really need to talk to more people than The Boy, because I'm that starved for conversation. I need friends- not that I'm willing to do a whole lot about that, obviously, since I know I've said this here before.

I've joined Book Crossing, which is sort of like Where's George, only for books. I love the idea of releasing books into the wild for someone to pick up. I've got a few books registered and I think I'll take Nephews 1 and 2 out with me while they're here to release some. I wish there'd be a possibility of finding some, but there aren't a lot of active areas in the vicinity.

Actually, I'm trying to decide whether to do a journal. In middle school, we did these travelling bears. Like the Roaming Gnome, only with a journal. We were in groups and sent a stuffed animal out and sent a notebook with him with instructions to send take the bear to new and interesting places and pass it on to someone else. Eventually, there was a date they should be sent back to the school.

Not a single one ever came back. Not to my knowledge anyway.

The idea with the journal, though, would be to make a sort of travel journal for the boys, and then have them leave it someplace (the children's section of the library, maybe), for other kids to take on their vacations, and we could keep an eye on it on the Internet.

BUT, I don't know if BC is really intended for that sort of thing, and whether anything would come of it.

One of the other things I thought it might be super fun to use it for are for my own writing. If I made a collection of short stories and left it someplace, how cool would it be to get feedback?

I just don't know whether these are possibilities or not.

Speaking of possibilities, that song from the Pillsbury commercial is from a Superman musical that flopped on Broadway in the 60's. It's called You've Got Possibilities and is sung by Linda Lavin. Loretta "Hotlips Houlihan" Swit and Peggy Lee have also recorded it.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------