Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
The Internet hates me
Sunday, Aug. 21, 2005
5:10 p.m.

Well, you get what you pay for. The website about the wedding was hosted by a free site. In finding a free site I did not want to be tied down to one of the giants (Tripod, Geocities, etc.), and I did not want terribly obtrusive adverts.

I believed I had found such a place, and indeed, for a while, I had. However, yesterday I stopped by the site and discovered a ginormous vertical ad- like those sponsered by Google, except that this one was not. In addition to being huge, it completely screwed up the look of the site.

Now, obviously, this means there is probably something wrong with my mediocre CSS skills. However, I do not have any idea how to fix it- in fact, I tried for four hours to figure out a way to fix it.

After four hours of work, I discovered that my IP provides perfectly free, ad-free webspace and image hosting to clients. Now I am in the process of moving (as well as editing) and hopefully everything will be back to some semblence of normal by the end of next week.

Whee!

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------