Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
NaNoWriMo
Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2005
4:47 p.m.

Oh no. As if I didn't feel that I were underacheiving enough. NaNoWriMo is upon me yet again. For the last three years I have considered the possibility, and have not even gotten close to 3000 words.

Most of my problem comes from the sheer mathematics of the thing. To sucessfully reach the word count minimum, I would have to type 1600 words/day, give or take a few hundred. If I were to type 15 words/minute (taking thinking into account) I ought to be able to type 900 words/hour. That's 55 hours total and a little over an hour of work a day. It looks plausible, but it's not because I get stuck and cannot continue writing.

I think it would be a fantastic thing for me to try. For starters, it would force me to write. If I really wanted to do this, I would have to sit down for an hour every day, set the timer, write, and not edit. And there would be the tough one.

How Dickens managed to write (and write and write and write) by the column inch without being able to go back and re-write I'll never know, though it does explain his unusual names.

I guess we'll see how confidant I'm feeling in the coming weeks.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------