Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
I can live with being melodramatic
Thursday, Jun. 08, 2006
4:57 p.m.

So, here's the situation.

The only thing that this state requires of every educational facility is that it offer a physical education course. As far as high school goes, this means that all any high school is required to offer is physical education, and, oddly enough, government (which is generally a senior year requirement). English, Math, all that stuff, purely extra as far as the basic requirements are concerned. Schools in the state offer them because, duh, we're not Alabama.

Anyway, this means that every educational facility must require them. Yep, colleges. Some people say to themselves, woohoo, college, I will never have to take a gym class again! They will also gleefully cheer about the single math/english/whatever core course they hated that they just have to barely pass for a liberal arts degree, but generally this is not the case with physical education. The dread of physical fitness exits with high school. Except in this state (I say this believing we're the only one, I could be wrong, I would feel a lot better if I were wrong).

My fabulous university requires it, and they require it in a complicated way. First, you must take a full semester lecture course. You must also sign up for two seperate half semester lab courses- one must be areobic, the other must be a skill. I signed up for all three classes. I attended all three classes (more like I showed up for the tests for the lecture, suffered through the areobic and had a decent amount of fun with the skill), and as far as I know, I passed.

They told me three weeks ago that technically I didn't graduate because all three of the courses and grades were not turned in. Having been uncertain about this in the first place, I called the department head. She told me if my name was on the list, I would go through, everything would be OK, I thought everything was OK.

Everything was not OK. For some reason this was all a pack of lies, so I've been trying to get a hold of the woman to sign the damned paper to let me take this to the provost and get this taken care of. Well, she took the paper two weeks ago, refused to sign it because I don't know why, and I haven't been able to get a hold of her since then.

The deadline to fix this is tomorrow. I don't know what to do, the registrars say I have to get a hold of her. I can't find her in her office, the poor kids in the office don't know anything about a home number for her, and they haven't seen her in the office for a week. I can't even send her an e-mail because my university mail doesn't work anymore and half the time the servers bounce anything that ISN'T a university address.

While I realise it's melodramatic to whinge that my life is over tomorrow... well... Yeah.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------