Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Easy living now
Sunday, Jul. 24, 2005
5:03 p.m.

Charlie closed today. Can't say it means much to me except that now when I work it'll be a lot quieter. The kids were supposed to help with strike, but kids are not the handy, capable little things you sometimes read about. Watching these kids try to clean tables and fold tablecloths you wonder how child labour ever caught on in the first place. How were they any good in factories and mines if they can't manage a few basic household chores?

Anyway, their helping means that Nathan's got about two more hours work ahead of him. This means I probably better go and do some of the dishes or clean the bathroom or something. It helps when you've been working all day to know that the person you live with hasn't been napping all day.

But, before I go, I just caught something on television about Fred Birchmore. The Internet doesn't have a whole lot to say about him, but this is probably the best and most comprehensive. This is the sort of person I would like to be, really. This guy has done a lot of neat stuff. None of it's necessarily important, or life-changing, but it seems like his life adds up to a lot of great experiences.

That's a life I could happily live.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------