Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Mmmmmmmm. Music.
Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2006
11:38 p.m.

I have about a minute and a half snippet from a Gaelic song sung by someone named Liza Kay. It's called "Siuil a Ruin" (though the spelling varies). In spite of the fact that I only have less than half the song, it has quickly become my new favourite song of all time (and or this moment).

I have probably listened to it for hours today, on repeat. It's a little similar to the James Taylor version of "Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier", except not at all. To hear this musical wonder for yourself, however, go here.

It has everything I love about music: the guitar part in the back almost sounds like Simon and Garfunkel's "He Was My Brother", it's in a foreign language (partly), and it's in my vocal range! Besides that, it's got intervals that knock my socks off. I live for a couple magical intervals, the aforementioned "He Was My Brother" has some, and there's a section in one Beatles song (I can't recall which one now) that I used to rewind the tape over and over just to listen to John sing two notes. That says a lot coming from me, because when I was listening to The Beatles on tape, Sir Paul was my personal god.

I don't know why some intervals are like that for me, there are just some combinations that feel right, that feel like CS Lewis describing what the Pevensies feel like when they first hear that Aslan is on the move (excepting Edmund, for those who remember the passage I'm referring to).

It's something I haven't got the words to describe properly. Sometimes I get so frustrated with words, because they don't describe a feeling the way that two single notes can sometimes.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------