Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Frittering away
Thursday, Sept. 01, 2005
12:43 p.m.

I am supposed to be working on my play that was supposed to be finished yesterday. Yet again, I have reached the point where I just have to sit down and write, everything is straightforward, I know what I need to do, but I need to do it. This should be so easy and refreshing that there should be no problem. Erm, no.

So here I am in the uni computer lab, frittering away my time. As long as I send it to Gretta today, I suppose we can count that as "being done by the end of August".

We're trying to upgrade to DSL. It turns out that DSL doesn't work when you cannot account for all of the phone wires. The apartment has a mess of odd faceplates covering former places that wires used to come out of the wall and functioned. It is our task to take them all off, work out what's in there, perhaps talk to the apartment people to fix the problem, and do it all soon so we can use the DSL we started paying for last week.

I feel awfully about the hurricane. Every single time I hear about it, or read the headlines, I am forced to giggle. See, I know a girl whose name is Katrina, and she's a bit of a bitch. Well, a bit of a bitch often puts it mildly. She's taken this semester off school and is doing I don't know what. At any rate, it means that every single time I hear things like "Katrina pummeling South" and "Katrina rages on" I think of our bitchy red-head on a Godzilla-esque rampage.

It makes me feel awful, because my Katrina wouldn't be nearly as destructive as the real thing seems to be. So, even though I giggle, my most personal best wishes and hope to everyone who has anyone close down there. I remember hearing about Hurricane Andrew when I was in elementary school, and I guess Katrina far surpasses that. It's going to be a rough recovery.

But if you happen to meet a larger, red-headed girl with dark, smoldering eyes, that's also a dangerous Katrina.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------