Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
They Have Computers on the Internet Now?
Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
2:21 a.m.

I always hope that I come across as an intelligent, sohpisticated, girl-of-the-world, not only here but everywhere. So, pardon me while I reveal my ignorance.

They have writing jobs on the Internet now.

Those of you who knew this, feel free to giggle. I guess some part of me knew this, but assumed that you had to know the magic password. Another part of me thought it all sounded too good to be true and had to be a scam, like so many others.

Imagine my surprise, then, when I stumbled across the world of freelancing today. It was certainly refreshing to page through lists of jobs I might actually be qualified for. But, I haven't any real experience, so I don't expect anything much from the three or four responses I sent out.

And I've been trying to do my homework on this. I know from being amongst theatrical people that freelance work basically means running your own business, so I've been looking at taxes, billing, pricing, all that sort of thing. I've always been frightened by the business side of creative endeavours, because it seems the side that you get to learn about on your own.

It's always seemed to me that the creative process had two distinct black holes: how to proceed once you've got the job and how to get paid for the job. The middle part, the job, that was what I was being taught, and efforts were even occasionally made to show us how to go about getting the job, but all that other stuff was a mystery.

I suspect this is largely because we were learning from teachers, who, let's face it, have a job with a paycheck and benefits. While a lot of my professors did freelance work, it seemed to fall into their laps just because they worked at the university.

Anyway, all that in addition to the photography studio job application (did I mention this, I don't think so?)... It'd be nice to have something by the end of the month.

Spring Break has begun. Ours will revolve around cleaning the house and starting The Boy on his thesis. The project is next semester, but he's got to have the proposal written soon. He also starts on his show for this year at the end of the month, Full Monty.

Yes, that would be the show with the naked guys. In the northern half of the Bible Belt, yes. It's not exactly opressive, but it's more closed minded than where I came from, I promise you.

They've got it set for a butts-in-seats show, which means they hope to get a lot of people to come. They have a much smaller house than the theatre at our undergrad, and they've never sold out their main stage in the time we've been here. Our undergrad theatre was large, but I recall selling out for a couple performances. We generally had packed houses, though, and they're lucky here if they pack a Friday night.

Not much else to report, I'm afraid.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------