Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Electronic Universe
Monday, Feb. 25, 2008
9:46 p.m.

Apparently, there were Oscars last night. I checked through the winners and had only even heard of maybe three of the movies, but had only seen one. (Transformers, and that was through no choice of my own.)

I think that I have the same problem with cinema that most people have about theatre: I'm not willing to pay that much for it to suck. I suppose the argument is that bad theatre sucks a lot harder than a bad movie, but I'd rather watch bad theatre.

It also costs just as much to buy a DVD as it does to get two people into a movie theatre, and then you get to watch the movie again once its done. While there are certain movies that need to be seen humongous (Star Wars) and movies that it helps to see humungous (anything Pixar), there just aren't enough to warrant going to the movies.

Speaking of DVD, it looks like Blu-Ray won the format war. I stand corrected.

I had predicted that, like Betamax and Laserdisc, the way to determine the next format was to look at what Sony and Disney stood behind, and choose the opposite. I had forgotten to take the power of Wal-Mart into account.

My parents have a Beta, and that was all we had until about 1992 when we finally got a VHS player. So, I was wary of CD's and DVD's for years. I only started buying DVD's four years ago when I became convinced that they weren't just a fad.

Unfortunately, I think the switch to a high definition player may be sooner than I would like. You see, I despise The Cable, and our government has decided that, unless you buy The Cable, they will render your television obsolete. Because why should they just send television through the air where anyone can get it?

But, says the government, we'll give you an option. We'll give you two forty dollar vouchers to go buy converters, to convert two of your televisions to high definition. Just go to our voucher approved retailers and purchase them. This means you can't just waltz into Target and buy one, nope. My parents looked, in the whole state of Iowa there's a TV store in Sioux City, and another in a po'dunk town in the middle of nowhere that will accept the vouchers.

Fuck you too, government.

I suppose if I'm unhappy with this, the plans were on display if I'd gone down to the cellar with a torch and looked in the disused toilet stall with the sign that says "Beware of the leopard."

I'm not getting you down at all, am I?

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------