Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
So I continue to continue
Friday, Dec. 15, 2006
1:15 p.m.

I'm having one of those days. The semester's over, but I find myself wondering whether I should bother with the next one. I don't feel like I belong here, because I'm an interloper. I don't belong to the department, and it's still highly possible I won't get accepted into it when I can apply, in which case this entire year was a complete and total waste of my time. (Not to mention the loans.)

On top of that, we have the fact that The Boy's not particularly happy, but they accepted him. Which means if I don't get accepted next fall, I either have to try to find something to do with myself, or he decides to nosedive into oblivion, and we end up trying the "do-over" route, which is next to impossible considering how difficult it was just to end up here.

I finished Wuthering Heights last night and that's had a decidedly negative effect on me. If anything's tragically depressive, that book is. Makes everything good and cheerful seem as though it can't possibly come to a good end. It's a good enough story, but it's got such a bad concept: the guy gets the entire story from a servant who knows a heck of a lot more than anyone in her place has a right to know. Mrs. Dean is always so coneniently in the right place at the right time. When did she find the time to marry and lose Mr. Dean, anyway, even if she IS sixty at the end? The whole last chapter is a throwaway, at any rate. I fully understand why nobody liked it when it was first published. Jane Eyre is much better, overall. I suppose I'll have to read The Tenent of Wildfell Hall finally, to see how Anne compares to her sisters.

I go to the school in about an hour. They're trying my patience to no end lately. The three leads are the ones most offen not there, and I've no way to get hold of them, except by e-mail, which they claim neither they nor their parents check. Hoorah.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------