Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Disjointed topics
Friday, Mar. 04, 2005
8:53 a.m.

I have reached a new height of American laziness. I only have to walk twenty minutes to get from my house to my German class. My German class which starts in six minutes.

It's actually Nathan's fault. He talked me into staying home today because he wanted two more hours sleep. I could've gone by myself, nothing stopping me, except that I don't want to do a twenty minute walk in the cold.

Speaking of the cold, I wish Mother Nature would get over her PMS and make it spring already 'cause she's been one cranky bitch this past month or so. We've been in miserably cold temperatures to have one day of almost decent sunny weather. I guess that sounds more like hot flashes, though.

Oh man, Mother Nature's going through menopause.

The university was going to have Nilo Cruz come for a workshop. He wrote Anna in the Tropics, a play about Anna Karenina and Florida cigar factories in the 1920's. I believe it won a Tony or a Pulitzer or some gigantic award, and the play is very very good. But, Mr. Cruz is opening a show in London now and that's where his priorities lie, so bang goes that opportunity. We've still got an Iranian actress coming to talk later this month, but I really would've liked to hear from somebody making money at what I want to do.

I'm trying to find a job for this summer. It seems that just about everything I have any interest in doing is not a real job, it's a volunteer thing. The area theatres want volunteers, the humane society wants volunteers, the libraries want volunteers, the Girl Scouts (of course) want volunteers. Does getting paid to do something automatically make it a shit job?

I will be the first to admit I have never had a real job. Three years at a GS camp and two university jobs are not, in any sense "real jobs", not when you write them down on paper. Let's see, I got paid to play with kids all summer, I got paid to build sets, and now I'm getting paid to sell theatre tickets. Compared to all these retail and restaurant workers, I have nothing. Thing is, I don't want to do these jobs because they suck, as I know from everyone who has ever worked one. I don't need to find out first hand.

But I have to pay rent this summer and eat, so I have to find something. I wonder if we could get Nathan's brother to pay us to take a couple of his kids off his hands for the summer?

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------