Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Our Heros Are on the Horns of a Dilemma
Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
12:36 a.m.

All that stuff I said about shoe dropping and decision making? I lied. I would infinitely prefer wallowing in blissful uncertainty.

My dad called me today to say that my uncle told him to tell me (Because calling me directly is too difficult. I've had maybe three conversations with this uncle that didn't revolve around the sale of Girl Scout cookies.) that he kind of needs to know about The House.

The trouble is that Theatre Dream Job in the same town can't hire anyone until 2010. Saying yes to The House would mean potentially turning down other jobs for The Boy. What am I saying potentially; it would almost certainly mean that.

Option 1
We move in to The House without jobs lined up, and therefore possibly work crap jobs to pay for The House. And hope that maybe Theatre Dream Job will hire at least one of us in 2010. Or hope that theatre freelancing is a possibility. I have a couple friends to e-mail on that score, I guess.

Option 2
We turn down The House in hopes that The Boy gets a university job somewhere and maybe I could find something wherever that is, possibly. This would mean that, barring a miracle, The House would be gone. (I suppose it's likely the place would sit on the market for a year, but, not terribly likely. Honestly, for the price compared to the assessed value, anyone who had the ability to fix the plumbing and liked yard work would be stupid not to buy it.)

The trouble with Opt. 1 is that I want The House. The Boy wants a university job. In that scenario, I get what I want, he... might end up working at Lowes. A university job wouldn't happen, not in the foreseeable future (unless something changes at one of the local private universities or the state university half an hour away). He'd pretty much have to revise his plans of working in theatre.

The trouble with Opt. 2 is that he gets a university job, and I get to hope that I can get a job. And if TB's job doesn't renew for a second or third year, he's gone and we get to play "where do we move next?"

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------