Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Cleaning and Moving
Sunday, Jul. 09, 2006
12:59 p.m.

I had an extra long rant born from a visit from Nathan's family yesterday. It died an agonising death when I was closing windows without paying attention to which windows they were. I think, on the whole, I'm just as happy it disappeared.

To sum it up in two sentences: they're not getting copies of all the wedding pictures, and I'm so glad they can't "help" us move.

Next week (starting the 15th), I get to go home to clean out my room. It's the only way I get my dresser. That room hasn't been properly cleaned for eleven years, so I suppose it's about time, but I have a feeling the whole week might not be long enough. My house spent several years (from WWI-WWII, I think) as an upstairs downstairs duplex, and my room was the main room upstairs. This gives you some idea of the size. It's not the size you think of when you think "child's bedroom", it's about four times that large. (My mother says it's the largest room in the house, but I think that's an overstatement.) That is not going to be a fun week.

Nathan believes we can pack up the whole apartment in three days. I can't decide if that's an overstatement or not. I think it will take a week to get it into a state to pack, and then three days to actually do it. I think we should throw away far more things than we are throwing away. We're both hoarders, but part of it is that we have things that we can't really throw away, and have no other way to get rid of.

We both have textbooks that we spent several hundreds of dollars for. We want to get rid of them, but what are we supposed to do with them? If we take them to a used book store, we can get a quarter for them. Selling them on E-Bay is not really an option. I've got a few bikes I want to sell, but it costs as much as I wanted to charge for one of them to run an ad in the paper. Right now, the way we are with money, I am loathe to give anything away that could be sold instead (and you can't make a tax rightoff if you won't file for taxes and don't itemize), but I don't know how to sell in order to profit. So, they'll probably move with us.

However, I am throwing away liberally, for me. I generally never get rid of essays, but I think I just threw out more than 90% of the ones I've written in the last four years. All my academic prowess into the recycling.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------