Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Choking the Chicken...?
Thursday, Feb. 15, 2007
7:04 p.m.

I have some reading I should be doing for class tomorrow, but I just don't feel like it.

There are nine people in the class, and I am the only one who talks on anything like a semi-consistant basis. Prof Eccentric Cat Lady (two or three steps removed from a Crazy Cat Lady) is a very talkative person. If you stray into her office she will start to talk about anything and everything. She really thrives on a captive, engaged audience, and I always try to do her a favour and give her one. I'm a little tired of being the sole contributor.

Actually, ECL is the reason I remind myself never to get a PhD. I'm a little spooked that I could end up like her. I like her, but, wow. She lives for academia, and research. I do research, but I don't get all hung up on it. I find out what I want to know about a thing and that's about as far as I take it, I don't really worry about tracing things back to their earliest sources or discovering new and different ideas. It's one of those spare-time-pursuits, not, thing-to-devote-my-life-to. ECL in particular is (I gather) a fairly well known expert in the work of a particular semi-obscure (in theatre, at least, totally obscure in the real world) scenic designer. She's almost finished with her book that she's been working on for something like ten years.

You have to be a little bit crazy to want to know that much about something most people don't even know exists.

My birthday was OK, thanks. Big spenders that we are, we went to Denny's. Yes, that Denny's. But, I also got a bunch of DVD's, the Big Fish soundtrack, and a few other things.

One of the DVD's is volume four of the Looney Toons Gold Collection. It's the version that pops up the warning label at the beginning saying that the cartoons included are a product of their time, yadda yadda yadda, please don't try to sue us if you're offended. To see an example of the kind of thing they're talking about, read up on Warner Brothers and the "Censored Eleven".

Originally, I followed that paragraph up with a long tirade about taking offense. It really invited argument, so I'll cut it down to the fact that my aunt, who championed against the evils of Beavis and Butthead ten years ago, sends out e-cards from Rubber Chicken Cards. Their icon is a pair of hands around the neck of a rubber chicken.

If my aunt recognised that as a euphemism, and knew what it meant, she would be outraged. As it is, she ignorantly sends e-cards to the entire church newsletter list. My cousins must get a kick out of that, or else they would've told her by now.

Sometimes, you just have to know how something's offensive in order to be offended by it.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------