Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Blast from the Past
Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2007
5:34 p.m.

Inspired by harri3tspy, I've assembled a bit of a Blast From My Past (TM). Since 1994 (age 9) I have kept a diary. Granted, over the course of ten years, I only filled five notebooks (the very first covers three years).

For me, it appears that 1995 was the year of heart dotted i's, and it lasted only a couple of months. 1997 has a couple months of circles, because I figured hearts were far too cutsie, but circles might look sophisticated.

By and large, the cursive I semi-learned in third grade has never been utilised, except for a short while in 4th and 7th grades. It's incredibly hard to read, and the single reason I always use print.

So, here's an informative entry from May 7th, 1995, fifth grade. Spelling intact, but last names (I've always had a habit of calling some people by both names) excluded.

I just realized I never said what the Perkins Press is! The Perkins Press is our school newspaper. It consists of me, Winfield, Austin, Brain, Steve, Alex, and Peter. Val I'm not sure about. No, Steve didn't quit the whole paper, very lucky, Winfield put him in and it was on a no complaints deal. Steve does all the sports he can get. The thing is none of us are very serious durings meetings, somebody says something and its usually so bizarre we all start laughting, then we can't stop! Once we all fell out of our chairs laughing about something. What it was was the "IN" and "OUT" colume, the person, Val, had put dresses, pants and shirts all as out! But she only had skirts as in! We all thought that was so funny! So the newspaper was saved.

On take our daughters to work day I went to DRAKE college and spent the day their. I was with a girl named Laura. We spent the whole morning doing science. We had a diabetic rat, like Justin in our class, and we tested its' blood. First we cut some of the tail off, we don't have to do that to Justin. The rats had been put to sleep and the blood was tested. We waited. After a while Laura and I went to Illinois hall so she could fill something out. Then we went back and waited on the rat again. Then after a while we tested him again, with the same prodeceedure as last time, then we waited, and W A I T E D and W A I T E D! Then the rat started to wake up! Yes, wake up! So we sat, watching it. Then another rat woke up. The teacher wasn't in the room, so he had to be found. He came back later from having coffee, took care of the awakening rats and tested them again. Then it was time to go, all the while, that time in science was, at least felt shorter then Mrs. Miller's class.

Then it was time for lunch. All the kids had the same thing, floppy fries and hamburgers. I've never met fries that needed salt like those did! Oh, well, I'm still alive. And after that dessert, mine? ICE CREAM! Then we had door prizes, I got a shirt. The we went home. Well back to school.

Friday was our egg drop. I won't say anything except that my egg didn't break. I have made this a very long page entrie so I'll stop.

I'm entertained by this one, because it is one of my most descriptive. The thing I neglected to mention about the rats was that they weren't supposed to wake up, and no one in the room knew what they were supposed to be doing with them because they couldn't find the professor. (Justin in our class was a person, not a rat. Not certain if that's clear if you don't know Justin.) As I look back on that, I think the poor girl stuck with me was a little out of her depth (I'd read books she hadn't, but then again, she was a science major), and I'm pretty sure she spent most of that class telling the two guys in her group to watch their mouths around me. I would've been oblivious to anything even if they had said it. Profane stuff never registered with me until middle school (and even then not often).

So, there was a look-see at 5th grade me If you liked that, stay tuned for another installment at a later time.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------