Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
He can't see without his glasses.
Wednesday, Apr. 04, 2007
9:47 p.m.

I read over my yesterday's entry and realised it was not the most coherent thing I've ever written. Those kids exhaust me.

How much, I didn't realise until I was driving home. When I go to the school, I take the overpass which means that I avoid the possibility of running into a train, but end up backtracking. On the way back, I drive down through the valley across the tracks. The tracks run right across the place where the road curves, and tonight I slowed to a stop and put on my turn signal. It took me a couple seconds before I thought to myself, "Wait, why am I turning? Why did I stop?"

When I got home, The Boy and I went out to the post office and Staples. I drove and did one or two slightly stupid things on the way there. I when we drove down the frontage road to the Staples, I almost drove by because I forgot that's where we were going. Instead of going to the post office, we decided to stop at the box at the gas station. I put the post in the box, and promptly forgot. Then, I practically took out a mailbox (to be fair, it's a narrow road, it's way too far out, and it's been hit before by other people), so it was determined I wasn't allowed to drive home. I gather from some of the looks The Boy's been giving me lately that my vocabulary's not been what it ought to be either.

I would say that Kindergarten teachers have a new-found respect from me, but the problem isn't one particular age group, it's all of them together.

I'm not terribly interested in rehashing the rehearsal, because I already did it with Tall Sarah, who, along with Hannah, is helping out with this show. Tall Sarah is the same girl that I referred to at the beginning of the rehearsal process for the last show as The Space Cadet. At that time, I would've elected her Queen. She's grown up a lot since then; it's really surprising the difference a couple of months can make.

That and, Tall Sarah's taller than me, so I tend to forget that she's 12 and treat her like she's about 16. Same deal with Hannah. Both of them, if they wanted to, could probably pass for 16 year olds. Hannah told me herself that most adults forget she's not in high school yet (though she will be next year).

The summer we've been having around here the last two, three days has given up. It's turned back into winter, as I discovered when I tried to go outside without a jacket this morning. The leaves on the trees all shrivelled up and the dandelions closed up again. All the red bud trees (why call a tree with brilliant purple blooms a red bud?) gave up, as did the flowering crab apples. The lilacs, surprisingly, are still holding up, and they only just started opening a couple days ago.

Speaking of summer (eh, lack thereof), I am amused that bermuda shorts are supposed to be "in" this year. I wonder if this is perhaps a continuation of the "skinny leg jean" non-fad. Actually, though, I like the idea. I am not a fan o' the ass shorts. By my definition, any shorts intended to be worn by the female of the species that have less than about seven inches of "inside leg" are ass shorts.

This is one of those fashion rules that I only apply to myself, not to others. I should not have to wear ass shorts. Girls with pretty little thighs should be able to wear whatever they want, because they don't look hideous when worn properly (unlike some fashion trends- Ugg boots, anyone?). If it were possible to get boy shorts without the rediculous cargo pockets, I probably would just wear those all the time. As it is, we'll see how bermudas go. Maybe I can look like Vada from My Girl for a summer or so. We already have the same bike- only hers is blue.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------