Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
One does not just walk into Mordor- tonight, we dance!
Tuesday, Apr. 24, 2007
7:27 a.m.

I have three more pages to write for my ten page Tuesday/Thursday class quota. More like two and a half, but it'll probably be three. I've got an hour to write it in, and so here I am.

Watching The Boy play Star Wars Lego I thought how much fun it would be to try to re-create the movies (at least the last three) with Legos by taking pictures and making captions. I do not have any of the stuff required to do this.

I do have several pewter action figures that came with my LOTR Trivial Pursuit game. I'm trying to decide how easy it would be to re-create the first movie with toys and crap around the house. And by re-create I definately mean that there will be lots of bad jokes and plenty of omissons. The first exchange I have planned is a close-up on Gandalf ("Frodo"), followed by a close up on Frodo, ("Yeah?"), back to Gandalf, ("Don't put it on."), Frodo promptly puts the ring on (I have a small collection of crappy One Rings that came with games, bookmarks, etc. that will fit over the figurine), and I cut to the box of the Trivial Pursuit game which features the Eye ("Ahhhhhh!"), back to Gandalf ("Damn it, Frodo").

The pewter figures I have are Aragorn, Frodo, Gandalf, and Galadriel along with six little plastic hobbits from another game (Merry, Pippin, Sam, Bilbo, and two extras). I've got Legolas and Gimli cast as my Yellow Submarine characters, Paul McCartney and Jeremy (the Nothing). Paul's very tall while Jeremy is very short and they're both still in their box, so it's like a matched set. I have no idea what to do about Boromir or Gollum (then again, if I just do the first movie, I don't have to worry about Gollum- I have one of those handpuppets that's just eyeballs that would work just as well). All major battles would be fought with chess pieces.

If I do it, it will take forever, so this might have to wait and be a summer project. It might also have to wait until I get some more of my toys. Still, it's fun to think about.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------