Home-----Archive------Links------Disclaimer-----Extras
Weather Alert
Thursday, Mar. 01, 2007
4:23 p.m.

So, I'm following the storm back in Iowa pretty closely. I guess they've closed the Interstates and declared the whole state a disaster area. There were a bunch of people from down here stranded in "Cedar Something" because they were on their way to a conference in Minneapolis. They've abandoned their quest and are trying to drive back now.

OldUni actually cancelled all classes after four PM. Most of the schools across the state are letting out early because when all the rain that they're getting right now starts to freeze around four o clock, the roads will be a nasty, nasty mess. Add snow on top of that and, yes, we're used to it, but we're not stupid. Besides, even Iowans generally think the weathermen are overdoing it, because so often they're not native midwesterners.

Meanwhile, the thing that makes it all surreal to me: not eight hours south it's sixty one degrees. I turned off the heater and opened some windows. It rained a little bit this morning, but it's nice and sunny and relatively warm. There was a tornado watch (or warning- living all my life in the midst of tornado country I can't remember which one means "well, you might die, we're not sure yet" and which one means "It's a twister, a twister!", because I have a cold and hardened attitude when it comes to tornados and assume they all mean "we're not sure yet"): that came to nothing.

Anyway, there's the weather forecast for the day. I've got a few more projects I need to work on before I start dinner in an hour.

previous - next

Profile------E-Mail------Notes------Diaryland------